This is a warning that we just feel needs to be issued. There is a product out there called Jilmail that is a complete copy of the World Wide Messenger. A person named “Kim” from outside of the United States is selling an illegal copy of our software. We have been successful in blocking the domain name (jilmail.com) by submitting DMCA complaints to whatever host this person hides on. Now the user will not even advertise the software, but requires you to “enquire” via a form about it. Of course, he does this because he knows he will be shut down again if he flagrantly shows off the software.
A DMCA complaint to Paypal has also forced Kim to go further underground as Paypal accepted our claim and took the appropriate action.
The version of the Messenger Jilmail is using also has a serious security vulnerability. I guess it is asking a little too much for a thief and a cheat to stay current.
If you want to verify that your version is actually a pirated version of the World Wide Messenger, log into your admin control panel, click the link to “Change Main Settings” and click the word “dbtype” and notice how the popup says:
“This is the type of database on your server. LEAVE this as mysql. Do not change this variable unless instructed to do so by the staff at worldwidecreations.com“.
Surely if this pirate is still selling our software, as soon as he reads this, he will most likely realize his mistake and change it. It is amazing that he did not take this out!
It isn’t bad enough that this user just steals our software outright, but then he has the nerve to charge THREE TIMES what we do for the same exact code. So in a weird way, we can say, if you are looking for a LEGAL copy of Jilmail at a 1/3 of the price, you might as well purchase the World Wide Messenger.
Any site using Jilmail will be contacted by us shortly and if their copy of Jilmail is not removed, we will be issuing DMCA complaints not only to their host (and backbone provider), but their registrar and the registrars franchiser.